Kwara State House of Assembly Principal Officcers

8th Legislature Principal Officers

Rt.Hon. Ali Ahmad

Hon. O. Matthew
Deputy Speaker

Hon. H. Oyeleke
House Leader

Hon. Umar M. Gunu
Chief Whip

Hon. Abdulkadir S.
Deputy House Leader

Hon. F. Ebun Owolabi
Deputy Whip

Alh. Moh'd Katsina
Clerk to the house

Mr. Speaker

The Speaker is the most senior political office bearer, the presiding officer and Chief Executive Officer of the State House of Assembly .He is assisted by the Deputy Speaker. The Office of the speaker directs policy formulation and ensure that an efficient administration that has capacity and capability to provided service necessary to enable the legislature fulfill its constitutional roles is in place.

Deputy Speaker

In the absence of the speaker the Deputy Speaker shall perform all the duties and functions of the speaker .In the absence of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker, such member of the House as the House may elect for that purpose shall preside during sittings. Such a member is known as ‘’Speaker protempore’’.

Majority Leader

He is a member nominated from the majority Party and is usually to Chairman of Rulers and Business committee. He actively participates in leading the business of the House .He is assisted by Deputy Majority Leader.

Minority Leader

The Minority Leader is a member nominated from the minority party .He liaises with party leadership and leads discussions for minority party on major issues amongst other non-partisan duty .He is assisted by the Deputy Majority Leader .

Chief Whip

The Chief Whip ensures orderliness on the floor of the House. He also ensures that the rules of the House are kept by members during sittings. He assisted by the Deputy Chief Whip.